//
listen
Hip Hop, Song

New Music: Smoke DZA ft. Kendrick Lamar & Mara Hruby > Uptown81

Song: Uptown81 ft. Kendrick Lamar & Mara Hruby
Artist: Smoke DZA
Album: T.H.C.
Producer: Hit Boy
Label: Cinematic Music Group
Genre: Hip Hop
Notes: From 1st LP
Source: Nah Right


Analysis: The worst thing a rap song can ever be is boring, and that’s what Uptown81 is, unfortunately. I’ve sort of knowingly ignored Smoke DZA’s work for a long time, but seeing that he has a new album on the way, I got excited to check this track out, and ended up completely underwhelmed. Maybe this version is unmastered or something, but it sounds cheap, average, and like something I’d be forced against my will to buy out of some guy’s backpack in Times Square.
Concept: 2.5 • Melody: 2.0 • Lyrics: 2.5 • Chorus: 2.0 • X Factor: 2.0
Overall: 2.2 (44%)

Discussion

4 thoughts on “New Music: Smoke DZA ft. Kendrick Lamar & Mara Hruby > Uptown81

  1. Lyrically, I don’t think this is too bad at all. As a listener I get to hear a variety to flows, and I’d say Uptown81’s metaphors and similes are on point. I can see how you think this is boring, though; the beat doesn’t come at you very hard and the chorus is pretty weak. That being said, i didn’t consider it a chore to listen to. Almost sounds like a rap song that Frank Sinatra would listen to.

    Posted by kinggriffey | January 30, 2011, 7:48 pm
  2. I usually love chill, laid-back beats, honestly. This one’s just a little too dull, but I hear what you’re saying. I don’t think Sinatra would have been listening to any rap if he were still alive, but the instrumental is definitely inspired by that golden age time period. And it does sound like Kendrick Lamar is the weak link here, and my first real impression of DZA suffers from that. I’m gonna keep checking for his material, as time goes forward but if you have any DZA suggestions of past work, let me hear it.

    Posted by gM | January 30, 2011, 10:09 pm
  3. this is pretty fuckin dope to me. thanks for puttin me on to him, never heard of him before. i’d give it a 3.5

    Posted by Machiventa | January 31, 2011, 12:04 am
  4. Glad some people are feeling this track despite my semi-low rating. At the end of the day, half of the reason for this blog is just to share new shit that I think people will enjoy even if I don’t.

    Posted by gM | January 31, 2011, 2:24 pm

Leave a comment

Archives

Genres