//
listen
Album Review, Blues Rock, Indie Rock

Album Review: The Black Keys > Brothers

Album: Brothers
Artist: The Black Keys
Label: Nonesuch
Genre: Indie Rock / Blues Rock
Length: 55:30
Links: Wikipedia | iTunes
Analysis: I’ve been struggling all week to come up with the words to describe why I really like The Black Keys’ latest effort Brothers. As an admittedly not-longtime fan of the duo, I don’t have much of a reference from their past work, besides their primal-blues debut. But I’ve decided that I don’t need to know their entire back catalogue to enjoy this one. Brothers is immediately accessable unfiltered rock from start to finish; sometimes bright and flashy, and sometimes muddy and murky, but always with flashes of my favorite major blues-based bands of the past and present scattered in and out. Derek and the Dominos, The White Stripes and Led Zeppelin (and inherently, all of their collective influences) are primarily my favorites, and I hear a lot of their best qualities in the collection that The Black Keys have presented here. But the point that I’m trying to make is, Brothers has a lot of great elements scrambled into it – elements that I’m not intelligent enough to dissect – but listening to it, I don’t feel that I should have to. The music speaks well enough on its own, and I’m content with just leaving you with that. And this:
Rating: 9.0
Highlights:Tighten Up‘ • ‘She’s Long Gone’ • ‘The Only One’ • ‘Unknown Brother’ • ‘Never Gonna Give You Up’ • ‘These Days’

Tracklisting / Music Videos:

01. ‘Everlasting Light’

02. ‘Next Girl‘Vodpod videos no longer available.

03. ‘Tighten Up‘Vodpod videos no longer available.

04. ‘Howlin for You’

05. ‘She’s Long Gone’

06. ‘Black Mud’

07. ‘The Only One’

08. ‘Too Afraid to Love You’Vodpod videos no longer available.

09. ‘Ten Cent Pistol’

10. ‘Sinister Kid’

11. ‘The Go Getter’

12. ‘I’m Not the One’

13. ‘Unknown Brother’

14. ‘Never Gonna Give You Up’

15. ‘These Days’

Discussion

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Month in Review: May, 2010 « The New Classics - May 30, 2010

Leave a Reply

Archives

Genres

