//
listen
Alt Country, Indie Rock, Song

New Music: Deer Tick > 20 Miles

Song: 20 Miles
Artist: Deer Tick
Album: The Black Dirt Sessions
Label: Partisan
Genre: Indie Rock / Alt Country
Notes: First single from 3rd LP
Analysis: Deer Tick’s ’20 Miles’ is a tingly, understated take-me-back love song; ironically almost like an indie folk version of ‘I’m Gonna Be (500 Miles)’, but with 480 less miles distance to travel. ‘I’m 20 miles outside the place that you live / And I need one more chance now that time’s running thin‘. No reason is given as to why the window for that “one more chance” is closing, but nothing about ’20 Miles’ is urgent. It’s mellow and controlled, with each of John McCauley’s acoustic strums and gruff vocal notes clean and lucid. It also is loaded with a good amount of amusing lyrics such as ‘I’ve got no direction without her little fingers‘ and ‘I’ve spent every dime that jingles in my jeans‘ that illustrate how helpless he is without this woman. I hope he gets her back in the end.

Rating: 7.5
Source: Stereogum
Wikipedia | Last.fm | Pitchfork

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Genres

