//
listen
Hip Hop, Song, Southern Rap

New Music: Devin the Dude > What I Be On

Song: What I Be On
Artist: Devin the Dude
Album: Suite #420
Producer: Reggie Coby
Label: Razor & Tie
Genre: Hip Hop / Southern Rap
Notes: From 6th LP
Analysis: Devin’s last two albums, Waiting to Inhale and Landing Gear are modern favorites in the hip hop community, and both took a little while to grow on me. Landing Gear specifically, has become probably one of my top ten hip hop records of the last five years, and I end up playing ‘I Can’t Make It Home‘ pretty much every weekend on my way back from the bars. ‘What I Be On’ may have the same effect of needing to marinate in my brains for a while before loving it, but right now it seems unlikely. Devin still maintains his laid-back, always stoned delivery, and at this point no one is really expecting him to have any less than 70% of his tracklists about weed, so there’s really no complaining about the subject matter of this one. But what’s lacking is in the beat – a springy, near-naked two-toned instrumental that doesn’t really inspire anything but apathy. It sounds like a cooldown track from Dr. Dre’s 2001 album, and granted there are worse things to sound like, but this one is just a little too inactive. I know that we shouldn’t judge books by their covers and all that, but throwing that shoddy promo art above doesn’t give me a great feeling about what the rest of the album will be like. Then I remember Devin’s track record, and those feelings dissolve into anticipation regardless.

Rating: 4.5
Source: Dirty Glove Bastard
Wikipedia | Last.fm | Pitchfork

Discussion

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Month in Review: February, 2010 « The New Classics - March 1, 2010

  2. Pingback: Album Review: Devin the Dude > Suite #420 « The New Classics - April 21, 2010

  3. Pingback: Music Video: Devin the Dude > What I Be On « The New Classics - January 16, 2011

Leave a Reply

Archives

Genres

